Challenge 2: Wireframing

Strip down Spotify

Sarah E
2 min readMar 15, 2021

Our second challenge for Ironhack UI/UX Bootcamp, was to create a wireframe of our desired application. A wireframe is “ a page schematic or screen blueprint, is a visual guide that represents the skeletal framework of a website.” (Wikipedia)

I decided to work on Spotify as it is one that I use daily and enjoy using. It will help me understand why the app is designed the way it is to help people navigate their way to find new and old music. The app is minimal in design, keeping things simple and easy to use.

The flow I chose to wireframe was: main search → recent searches → Album → artist → song

App inventory:

  • Text fields (Search)
  • Toggles
  • Buttons
  • Icons
  • Images
  • Progress Bar

Once I had finished studying the app pages, I sketched out a lo-fi prototype. This would help me in the wireframing stage. I could assess which pages had the same elements, meaning I could create components in Figma to speed up the process and make it easier.

Low-fidelity Prototype

Once the Wireframe was done, I added prototype actions

Prototype Screen Shots

Here is the link to my Prototype.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cyNFot2YFue5b78-NVZRKA1YelSSBpFI/view?usp=sharing

This task was fun and interesting to see how such simple elements make up a popular app (maybe not the most popular company though…) On my third day of using Figma, it is already quite easy to use. I really enjoy the straightforward and logical features it has.

--

--

Sarah E

I’m Sarah. New things excite me, old things comfort me. I love colours and minimalism in design. I never get bored :) www.engler-images.com